Day 9- Natalie Sisson’s 10 Day blog challenge

Day 9- #10DBC

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 9

image

Finding the balance between work and play, the ultimate lifestyle business.

When I first started dreaming about having a location independent business I really thought that having all my worldly possessions in my backpack would be the ideal scenario. I even started down the path of selling and giving away all my stuff. Which was actually pretty therapeutic, as it turned out, I had way too much stuff and reducing the amount was actually very freeing in itself.

Then I tried out being away from home with a fourteen month contract on the other side of the country. I rented a furnished condo and had a whole new culture to explore. Overall the experience was amazing and it really gave me a taste of what it would be like to be travelling more. The thing that I enjoyed most was the lack of responsibility for home ownership and maintenance.

As a home owner for many years, it seemed like all my extra time and money went into fixing, upgrading and maintaining my home and yard. Renting the fully furnished condo opened my eyes to the amount of time it’s creates to not have any of that on my list. I immediately sold my house and bought a condo when I got back from that contract.

The problem that I had with being that far away was missing my family. I really lost touch with the day to day of my kids and grandkids and it wasn’t ideal. It made me realize that always being away wasn’t the answer but just having the option to be away was. I also realized that even when I paired down my belongs to the bare minimum it’s still a lot of stuff and I don’t want to be in a constant state of ‘moving’.

So now my ideal vision of my location independent lifestyle is having a few home bases around the world. I already have my condo in the beautiful mountain town of Canmore and I can’t see ever selling it. I do envision renting it out for the winter months while I head to warmer climates though! I also want a lake cottage so we can have a boat and a place for the kids to come out and visit on their summer vacations or to spend Christmas.

I would also like to buy a beach house somewhere hot. Maybe Costa Rica or Nicaragua, not totally set on the location yet but most likely in Central America somewhere. This would be something I could rent out when I’m not there to pay the bills and earn a little income. Then I would like to just spend some time travelling and see if any other place speaks to me and look for other income properties to invest in. I would keep the lake cottage as a non-rental family home base.

I think this plan would allow me to easily relocate from one place to the next and keep my overall schedule basically the same. Working in the mornings and playing in the afternoons. By going to the same areas every time the transition would be reduced and I could enjoy a little bit of familiar surroundings without being stuck in one place.

Seems like I need to get to work to pay for all of this!!

Jo

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

