Day 5- Natalie Sisson’s 10 Day Blog Challenge

Day 5- #10DBC

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 5

image

Here we are halfway through the blog challenge and I’m feeling pretty good about my responses so far. I think yesterday was a huge challenge for me and by rereading the post its totally obvious what a scattered mess my brain is right now. No wonder I’m not making much progress.

Today’s post is about setting up for success by creating a schedule that I can follow to get things done.

For me, I have no shortage of time to work on my business. I have spent the past three years completely overhauling my life to create space and time to do my life’s work. There are some other blog posts about that in this feed as I transitioned from the corporate world to contract work.

I have taken that pursuit to the fullest by selling my house, selling or giving away most of my possessions and setting up my home base in condo where I can literally leave for months at a time and not worry about anything.

I am really lucky to be at a stage in my life where I am an empty-nester and really only have myself (and my hubby) to look after. When I consider the contrast of my twenties when I was raising four kids alone, going to university full time and holding down two part time jobs, it’s staggering to me.

Therein lies the issue, I think. I feel like I have all the time in the world and so end up spend too much time in my own head, researching, prepping, strategizing, second guessing, doubting and starting the whole process over.

I need to starting DOING.

Despite my previous description, I am not lazy about working. Once I decide on a direction, I am impossible to stop. I actually love to work, it’s part of my identity and it really lights me up when I am doing some that I consider valuable. What I’m doing right now though, is jumping from one plan to the next without committing.

I liked the part in Natalie’s video today where she described the pomodoro method of productivity. I’m starting that today. 25 minutes of solid work, using a timer, followed by 10-15 minutes of break time. Rinse and repeat. She also suggested having a top 3 list of what must get done.

I am going to schedule a minimum of 6 pomodoro sessions daily on workdays, which for me is usually Monday-Wednesday and then Friday, the first one starting at 9 am. I might have adjust around client calls but I rarely have more than 2 a day so it shouldn’t be an issue. I will dedicate the first sessions to doing my contract work since that is where my bread and butter lies at the moment. In reality that should take me no more than 2 or 3 sessions daily.

The remaining 3 sessions will be about creating my next stream of income. After pondering yesterday’s post I think what I need to do is create an authority site (topic TBD). That feels right to me at this moment and it will either be on my current (http://onthegobookkeeping.com) site or I will start from scratch. Likely both. I know there’s money to be made that way and I know it’s a mid to long term investment of time so I need to get to work.

I will immediately start posting one blog post per week on my OTG site and since I have several topics already picked out that should be pretty straightforward. For the other site, I need to narrow down the topic and I’m leaning toward something in the slow food movement niche, it’s a huge passion of mine and a growing market but I will spend my pomodoro sessions mapping that out.

I am going to trust the process and believe that when I have really dug in and started producing the work, the direction will become more obvious.

Hope so!

Jo

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

