Day 1 #10DBC

Day 1 Blog

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 1

image

 

Day 1 of the #10DBC is about what challenges I am facing in creating the lifestyle I want.
My ideal lifestyle is where I have the freedom to travel and be wherever I like, whenever I like. That means my source of income needs to be portable and I need enough of that income to pay for the trips and adventures along the way.

So what are the challenges I’m facing that prevent me from living that ideal lifestyle?

1. Procrastination
I’m putting this at the top of my list because it’s definitely the challenge most responsible for me not being where I need to be. This is a challenge that affects multiple areas of my life from work to fitness to relationships. I spend a lot of time ‘getting ready’ to start things. I make lists, I do research, I buy office supplies, etc. Then when I run out of planning activities…I watch Netflix, I hang out on Facebook, I check my Pinterest boards…hundreds of distractions are available to prevent me from actually doing the work I need to do. I’ll start tomorrow!
In the past couple of years I have managed to create a lot of extra time for myself to get things done (by leaving my 9 to 5 and becoming a freelancer) and yet I’m still not where I want to be in my career and I can truly only blame procrastination.

2. Not sure what my business niche to focus on
I have spent the past 18 months struggling to determine exactly what it is that I want to offer the world as a way to make my living. I have many skills and talents and multiple areas of expertise but I can’t seem to choose one or the other. I have dabbled in affiliate marketing, business consulting, bookkeeping and currently am trying to pivot my bookkeeping service business to a course based/subscription business model.
I’m sure my lack of commitment to a single niche is holding me back from really getting traction in any area.

1. Inability to balance priorities
I am an all or nothing kind of gal. Once I finally decide what I need to do (see point 2 above!) I have no ability to balance work and life in order to make headway in multiple areas.
For example, right now I have a consulting contract which really lights me up. The business area is so interesting to me and there are so many things that I need to get done that I am neglecting my bookkeeping business and my fitness goals and my family. It’s all consuming to me and I know it’s dangerous to have all my income coming from a single contract and I should be working on other contracts or sources of income.
It’s not the first time that I have done this either. My last contract was also fantastic and I went all in and did very well but when it ended, rather abruptly, I was unprepared to move to my next assignment because I hasn’t cultivated any leads. That led to several months of earning nothing.

So there it is!

Looking forward to day 2!

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

